How my shoes did not land me a job (or did they?)

Last week I wrote about what to wear to a job interview. In case you missed that article, you can check it over here.  In this article I discussed what to wear and concluded with what to wear to a job interview to have a -statistically speaking- best chance of getting the job you’re applying for.

Just a recap, the best option to wear would be black derby shoes or oxfords, navy socks, navy dress pants and a light blue dress shirt. Instead of wearing what I should be wearing statistically speaking, I chose a different path. I wore brown brogues, navy polka dot socks, sand colored chinos and a light blue dress shirt.

Last Friday I got a call from the company I applied at, they asked me to come over and discuss salaries with them. So basically the deal was done. Wearing what I shouldn’t have worn I actually got the job I applied for!

So this Friday I actually had the chance to drop by their office and discuss salaries. Unfortunately we couldn’t get to an agreement, which led to me leaving their office without a signed contract. Too bad!

But hey, I actually learned that statistics aren’t always right and just show the majority of the control group. So I apparently applied for a job at an exception company, but I had good fun doing it! 🙂

2 thoughts on “How my shoes did not land me a job (or did they?)

Add yours

Leave a Reply

Powered by WordPress.com.

Up ↑

